Irving Penn

irv Irvi

Self-portrait
irvv

 

Irving Penn was an American photographer. He shot in black and white but rather than using natural lighting he preferred controlled lighting. He is mostly know for his fashion and portraiture shots. He even shot for Vogue magazine. From his images you can see that he loves the use of contrasting tones. I think that he hasn’t introduced colour in to his images because the effect the monochrome images give is a sharp, focused image rather than being distracted by vivid colours. It makes the portraits look more powerful and in some of the less contrasting images I’d say it makes the people look mysterious. I really like the work of Irving Penn as I love the contrast within his images and it is something that I would like to incorporate in to my work when I get a chance to.

Leave a comment